June 16, 2019 (10 Hours)

Posted: June 16, 2019 in 03-Fuselage Kit, 31-Upper Fwd Fuse Asm

I continued today by positioning the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges (F-1003D & E) simultaneously against the Forward Fuselage Top Skin (F-1071) and the forward side of the Instrument Panel (F-1003A).  As I held the attach flanges in place, my Dad match-drilled #40 the holes by using the Forward Fuselage Top Skin as the drill guide.  Afterwards I match-drilled #19 through the screw holes in the Instrument Panel (F-1003A) into the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges (F-1003D & E).  I then proceeded to remove the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges (F-1003D & E) and then using a nutplate as a drill guide, I match-drilled #40 the two nutplate attach holes for each screw hole.  I deburred the holes and edges of the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges before I dimpled the nutplate attach holes and the skin attach holes.  Next I machine countersunk the rivet holes in the Hand Hold Doublers and then removed them from the Forward Fuselage Top Skin (F-1071) and deburred the holes and edges.  I removed the Forward Fuselage Top Skin (F-1071) from the sub-structure and deburred the holes and edges.  I then dimpled all the holes except those that had been marked.  I also deburred and dimpled the holes in the flanges of the Firewall Bulkhead (F-1001A) that are common to the Forward Fuselage Top Skin (F-1071).  I removed the Instrument Panel subassembly from the Forward Fuselage Ribs (F-1044A & F-1045) and disassembled the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges and Instrument Panel Lower Flange from the Instrument Panel.  I deburred all the holes and edges of the Instrument Panel Attach Flanges and then dimpled all the rivet holes as was required.  I removed the Sub-Panel / Forward Fuselage Rib Subassembly from the Forward Fuselage, disassembled it into its individual components, and then deburred the holes and edges of all the parts.  Finally I dimpled the skin attach rivet holes in the Forward Fuselage Ribs (F-1044A & F-1045), Sub Panel Center (F-1068A), and Sub Panel Sides (F-1068).

Leave a comment