February 17, 2012 (7 Hours)

Posted: February 17, 2012 in 03-Rudder, 05-Elevator

I used a couple of days to work on the fiberglass Elevator Tip Fairings (E-912) and the Rudder Tip Fairing (R-1009).  First I removed any interference between the flanges and the Elevator Trailing Edges (E-1023) so that the tips could be fully inserted into the elevators.  Then I match drilled them using a #40 drill and clecoed the fairings into the elevator as each hole was drilled.  Next I final drilled the holes, starting from the front and working my way back, using a #30 drill. I removed the tips so that I could deburr and dimple the skins and then I countersunk the tips to accept the dimples in the skin.  Finally I clecoed it all back together and riveted the Elevator Tip Fairings (E-912) onto the elevator assembly using the CS4-4 blind rivets.

    

    

    

The same basic procedure was used for the Rudder Tip Fairing (R-1009) except that I had to trim a lot off the width of the molded flange before I could get it to fit tightly.  Again I matched and final drilled the necessary holes before I deburred, dimpled, and countersunk the parts.  Finally I clecoed it all back together and riveted the Rudder Tip Fairing (R-1009) onto the rudder assembly using the CS4-4 blind rivets.

    

    

Leave a comment